The best treatment for laryngospasm is simple, fast, and free

Nice tip. Now to get a patient with laryngospasm

Ramblings of a doctor

Ever since I have been on-staff at a tertiary care academic hospital, I have made it a point to teach all the students and residents I work with about the ‘laryngospasm notch’. Specifically, since it is my standard care for every patient I extubate, I make sure trainees are applying firm pressure in the laryngospasm notch after they extubate every patient. Usually, the first residents have ever heard of the ‘notch’ is from me! This is disappointing since this manoeuvre is extremely important in clinical anesthesia, and every anesthesia practitioner should know about it. I therefore thought I would write a blog post about it.

View original post 1,067 more words

Leave a Reply

