Sensationalism on Mountain Accidents by the Media ! A personal view.

heavywhalley

I am just back from a great two days in the Scottish Mountains in the North West enjoying a wonderful time. I missed the massive callout in the Cairngorms where another family suffer the tragedy of losing one they love in the mountains. My first thoughts are condolences to the family who lost a loved one and my thoughts are with them. Also for the Helicopter crews, Rescue Teams and Search dogs and all involved in the search and recovery in such weather. Yet I was over on the West enjoying a great spell of weather in a remote location, at times I was on my own where a slip on the full on winter conditions could have been very serious but I was confident and acknowledged the risk I was taking. People knew where I was going, I had map , compass and the basic skills and equipment for…

View original post 1,204 more words

Leave a Reply

